top of page

Let's Push for MI Care (HB 6285)!!!

House Bill 6285, the MiCare Bill, has been formally introduced into the legislature and is now under consideration in the House Health Policy Committee. This bill would remove insurance companies from health care delivery in Michigan, and put in place a publicly-supported system that would offer all Michiganders complete health care coverage. Using projections from similar bills in other states, a net savings of $20 billion is expected if MiCare is successfully implemented.

It's time to for citizens to advocate for this bill in the following ways:

● Contact your own state Representative, and urge him or her to co-sponsor HB 6285. Find contact info for your state rep at this Michigan House of Representatives link:

● Contact House Health Policy Committee Chairman Hank Vaupel (517-373-8835), and urge him to approve and move the bill through committee with all possible speed.

● Contact as many of the Health Policy Committee members as you are able (contacting all would be optimal!), and tell them that you are reaching out to them because they are on the Health Policy Committee. Let them know that as a Michigan citizen and voter, you want them to support HB 6285 and move it through committee with all possible speed.

● Share this information with friends and family. (You can copy and paste this info to share in an email or text). Encourage others to make these important phone calls.

House Health Policy Committee Members

517-373-8835 Hank Vaupel (R) Committee Chair, 47th District

517-373-0615 Jim Tedder (R) Majority Vice-Chair, 43rd District

517-373-1780 Joseph Graves (R) 51st District

517-373-0830 Daniela Garcia (R) 90th District

517-373-2617 Jason Sheppard (R) 56th District

517-373-0842 Julie Calley (R) 87th District

517-373-7768 Diana Farrington (R) 30th District

517-373-1789 Roger Hauck (R) 99th District

517-373-8931 Pamela Hornberger (R) 32nd District

517-373-1706 Bronna Kahle (R) 57th District

517-373-3816 Jeff Noble (R) 20th District

517-373-0822 Winnie Brinks (D) Minority Vice-Chair, 76th District

517-373-2276 LaTanya Garrett (D) 7th District

517-373-8808 Sheldon Neeley (D) 34th District

517-373-3818 Jim Ellison (D) 26th District

517-373-0847 Abdullah Hammoud (D) 15th District

517-373-1180 Kevin Hertel (D) 18th District

Melissa Weipert, Committee Clerk


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page